Harvardwood Classical Salon: A Musical Spring in Italy

March 19, 2017 at 5:00pm - 7pm
A living room in the West 90s
You'll get the exact address in your registration confirmation e-mail
New York, NY 10025
United States
Google map and directions
Spence Porter ·

This time of year we all start yearning for Spring—but it's already Spring in Italy!  And if we can't go there physically, we can all travel musically to a perfect Italian Spring!  For this special concert, pianist Yelena Grinberg and cellist Sean Katsuyama are preparing a special program filled with the spirit of Italian Springtime, with music by Vivaldi, Tchaikovsky, Locatelli, Paganini, Busoni, Stravinsky, and Boccherini.

Cost:  $18 for Full Members and Friends of Harvardwood (and their guests); 
          $28 for non-members.

The doors will open at 4:30 p.m.  The performance will begin promptly at 5 p.m.  There will be a wine and cheese reception with pianist Yelena Grinberg and cellist Sean Katsuyama after the performance.

Limited to just 21 people.  Advance registration is REQUIRED. 

One of the greatest and rarest joys of music is the opportunity to hear a great musician in the intimacy of her own home. We are thrilled that Yelena Grinberg, one of New York's finest pianists, has agreed to welcome us into her home a very few times each year for a special series of intimate concerts, played on her own piano, just for us. At these concerts, Yelena will talk about and perform some of her very favorite works from her vast repertory. Yelena's living room seats just 21 people, so we strongly recommend early registration.


Yelena Grinberg is a virtuoso whose playing combines strength, intellect, and passion. She has performed with the Moscow Symphony as well as at important festivals in England, Spain, France, and Switzerland. She has won major awards in numerous competitions and was the 2005 winner of the Artists International Competition. Her sold-out performance at Carnegie Hall's Weill Hall was hailed by the New York Concert Review as "a grand performance in a grand tradition."
Sean Katsuyama has toured Europe, Japan, and Korea as a member of the Hong Kong Philharmonic and the Pacific Music Festival Orchestra.  He is a founding member of the Iris Quartet, now in its eleventh year of concerts.

Special thanks to Andy Goodwin and the Plymouth Hill Foundation.

Members, Register Here

Purchase tickets  $18.00 Members & Friends

If you can't access the RSVP button for dues-paying Harvardwood members, make
sure you're logged in. If you still have issues accessing the page, your membership
has lapsed, so renew your dues as a Full Member or Friend of Harvardwood.

Not a dues-paying member? Register below

$28.00 All Others
Calendar Programs Jobs & Career Development