Harvardwood Classical Salon: Bach Goes to Italy

August 21, 2016 at 5:00pm - 7pm
A living room in the West 90s. You'll get the exact address in your registraion confirmation e-mail.
New York, NY 10025
United States
Google map and directions
Spence Porter ·

Cost:  $15 for Full Members and Friends of Harvardwood (and their guests);
          $25 for non-members.

The doors will open at 4:30 p.m.  The performance will begin promptly at 5 p.m.  There will be a reception with pianist Yelena Grinberg after the performance.

Limited to just 21 people.  Advance registration is REQUIRED.  (Update: Just 8 seats left!)

If you register after 2 pm the day of the performance, be sure to bring your registration confirmation with you!

One of the greatest and rarest joys of music is the opportunity to hear a great musician in the intimacy of her own home. We are thrilled that Yelena Grinberg, one of New York's finest pianists, has agreed to welcome us into her home a very few times each year for a special series of intimate concerts, played on her own piano, just for us. At these concerts, Yelena will talk about and perform some of her very favorite works from her vast repertory. Yelena's living room seats just 21 people, so we strongly recommend early registration.


Vivaldi.jpgIn the first part of the 18th Century, Italy was the center of musical innovation, and composers everywhere avidly followed the new music being composed by Italians and, above all, Vivaldi, whose unpublished manuscripts were treasured all over Europe.  Bach was a particular enthusiast of this daringly new music, not only studying the latest pieces but even making keyboard versions of several Italian concertos for his own use.  In this special concert, we'll hear Bach's own keyboard versions of concertos by Marcello, Torelli, and of course Vivaldi.  Following these, we'll hear Bach's own original imitation of an Italian concerto, called, naturally, Italian Concerto, one of his most loved pieces, and one that is transformed by hearing it in the Johann_Sebastian_Bach.jpgcontext of the works it emulates.  As a special bonus, we'll also hear a new keyboard version of the "Autumn" Concerto from Vivaldi's Four Seasons.

Yelena Grinberg is a virtuoso whose playing combines strength, intellect, and passion. She has performed with the Moscow Symphony as well as at important festivals in England, Spain, France, and Switzerland. She has won major awards in numerous competitions and was the 2005 winner of the Artists International Competition. Her sold-out performance at Carnegie Hall's Weill Hall was hailed by the New York Concert Review as "a grand performance in a grand tradition."

Special thanks to Andy Goodwin and the Plymouth Hill Foundation.

Dues-paying Members, Register Here

Purchase tickets  $15 Members & Friends

If you can't access the RSVP button for dues-paying Harvardwood members, make
sure you're logged in. If you still have issues accessing the page, your membership
has lapsed, so renew your dues as a Full Member or Friend of Harvardwood.

Not a dues-paying member? Register Here

$25.00 All Others
Enter the total number of tickets you'd like in the box above.
Calendar Programs Jobs & Career Development